IU Men and Akron Women WIN the #NICChamps!

In Editorial Column by RITTER Admin1 Comment

As you all know, RitterSP covered the #NICChamps meet hosted by the CSCAA this past weekend at Cleveland State University. With 59 teams entered into the meet and it being combined (Men’s and Women’s), there was some very fast swims.

Not only was the record books re-written for the meet itself, we also saw some impressive pool records broken.

Here are a few of the notable swims:

1.) Alex Dillmann, from Ohio State Swimming and Diving, beat Olympian, Pablo Morales, 200 Fly pool record with a time of 1:43.49!

2.) Thomas Vanderbrook, from Indiana University Swimming, broke the pool record in the 200 Freestyle off the Men’s 800 Free Relay—with a time of 1:34.91!

3.) Abigail Kirkpatrick, from Indiana University Swimming, won both the Women’s 100 and 200 Breaststroke events with a time of 1:00.51 and 2:11. 08.

4.) Kailyn Evans, from University of San Diego, took home the win in the Women’s 100IM—dropping over 2 seconds between prelims and finals to stop the clock at 55:11.

To see more event results, click here. Otherwise, let’s dig into the team standings:

Men’s Top 10 Teams:

Indiana University Men’s Swim Team WIN the #NICChamps!

Women’s Top 10 Teams:

University of Akron Women’s Swim Team WIN the #NICChamps!

I don’t think it’s pure irony that the team’s that won the meet– had the most gold medals as well…just saying 😉

Interested in learning more about the #NICChamps and getting your team involved next year? Check out our interview with Executive Director, Greg Earhart and Director of Operations, Matt Zimmer—who explain the origin of this meet, their vision for it in the future, and how you can get your team involved for 2020.

Want to relive the #NICChamps meet, click here to watch our live stream on our Meet Central page.

Until Next Time,

Abbie Fish


  1. Pingback: IU Men and Akron Women WIN the #NICChamps! – SportUpdates

Leave a Comment